Council seeks Award Nominations

The Wisconsin State Council of TU believes it is important to recognize the outstanding efforts of our members and the broader conservation community, and we have been presenting a number of awards since 1983.


We are currently seeking nominations for our 2021 awards. Because we will not have a banquet in 2021, we will feature the award winners in Wisconsin Trout. We rely on you, our members and leaders, to let us know about those who deserve special recognition. So please take time to nominate individuals, groups or others you feel qualify for one of our awards.


Please submit your nominations, including a short narrative, to Awards Committee Chair Todd Franklin by December 1, 2020. Please contact Todd if you have any questions.

His email address is


The awards committee also includes Mike Kuhr, Jim Wierzba, Linn Beck, John Meachen, Scott Allen, Kim McCarthy and Henry Koltz. We welcome additional members to this committee, so please consider it. It takes very little time, and is one of the most rewarding things we do for TU: recognizing those members, chapters, groups, businesses and professionals who support our mission.


State Council Awards for 2021

Resource Award of Merit

Our highest award, the Resource Award of Merit recognizes a person, corporation or organization for outstanding contributions to conservation and may be a nonmember. Award can be presented posthumously.


Silver Trout Chapter of the Year Award

The Silver Trout Award recognizes the chapter that over the last year took innovative and thoughtful approaches to building community and advancing our mission. Criteria we consider include conservation impact, communications, member and community engagement, fundraising and volunteer leadership development.


Distinguished Service-Leadership

In memory of Jeff Carlson, this award recognizes an individual whose enthusiasm, persistence and leadership have inspired generations of conservationists. This award is for an individual whose leadership has enriched the TU community whether at the chapter, council, NLC or trustee level. A key attribute of leadership recognized by this award is the sharing of ideas, experiences and knowledge with others to nurture and mentor the next generation of coldwater conservationists and leaders.


Distinguished Service-Youth Education

This award recognizes the fundamental importance of creating a new generation of conservationists in a manner that sustains TU’s conservation legacy. The award honors individuals who demonstrate exemplary leadership and a deep passion for inspiring young people to become thoughtful, responsible stewards of our coldwater fisheries. Adults and youth are eligible.


Distinguished Service-Veteran’s Services

This award recognizes an individual who embodies the TU community-building spirit with regards to nurturing veteran’s healing and involving veterans in their chapter events, activities and operations.


Reel Partner Award

This award recognizes businesses or organizations who have served as partners with the Council or its chapters in forwarding our mission.


Robert Hunt Resource Professional Award

In honor of Robert Hunt, this award recognizes a conservation professional who has shown concern for our coldwater resources over and above his or her normal duties.


Add Content